Carrots

Human food!  Hissss!  But wait – these carrots are yummy and crunchy and fun to eat, and they can be good for your pup.

Carrots Entertainment Value/Enjoyment(Me: 6.5/10, Lilo: 8/10):  My baby-cut carrots have taught Lilo the difference between human food that she gets, and human food that she doesn’t.  She perks right up when she sees the carrots come out and will dutifully sit awaiting her command.  It’s refreshing to get her to stay still for a few seconds while I’m in the fridge but it offers relatively little enjoyment to me(aside for when I take a few carrots for myself from the bag).  On a hot day offering a frozen carrot results in Lilo pushing and licking at it before crunching down with an expression of “why is this different”.

Smell(9.5/10):  If you haven’t smelled carrots the opportunity is waiting for you at your local grocery store.  I can’t complain about the smell and the crunch it provides cleans Lilo’s teeth off nicely – bye bye bad breath.

Per Day Limit:  I honestly have no idea what the limit is but there was an incident not that long ago where a bag of frozen veggies had an accident and my dog happily gulped down about half a cup of the veggies with no ill effect.  Baby carrots are rather small and if you snap them in half or slice them up into tiny pieces they make plenty of snacks with minimal mess.

Training Potential(9/10):  They hold my dogs attention fairly well and are easy to manage without stinking up your hands or getting them too dirty.  They can be sliced into small pieces so that you are never filling up your dog past full during a training session and you can keep a whole piece for bonus marks.

Cost: This one honestly stumps me, I don’t think I’ve ever checked the price tag past seeing if they’re on sale(if they are – get 2 bags!).  For a few dollars at the grocery store you should be able to get a bag of carrots but this does depend widely on where you are and what’s going on with the farming industry that week.

Bottom Line:  Lilo loves her carrots and I enjoy the training opportunity that they present as well as her antics with a frozen carrot.  I also enjoy her fresh breath that’s a result of crunching down on them.  She’s also not as picky about how fresh they are as I am(horrifically picky I am) so she often helps me finish a bag rather quickly.  Throwing your dog a carrot piece or two whenever you get some is a cheap way to increase training opportunities, keep your dogs teeth clean, and keep your veggies fresh.

Note: Caution should always be used when introducing a new food item into a dogs diet.  The recommendations on this page are not issued from a vet and I have no experience or knowledge in animal nutrition.  My analysis is based purely on my relationship with my dog and I’ve trusted the packaging to be accurate as to the impact it will have on my dogs health. If your dog has special needs, please consult a vet before introducing any treats into their diet, regardless of my recommendations.

Leave a Reply

