Ground Chicken and Rice

In light of my vet visit yesterday – I’m covering a bland diet option that can help settle a dogs upset tummy.

1/3 chicken(or beef) to 2/3 plain rice is the formula.  Make sure it’s bland – if there’s grease in the meat get rid of it.

Note: if your dog is allergic to chicken, use beef… if the allergy is beef – use chicken.  Consult a vet if you suspect both as allergens(if you’re in need of switching to this for a few days you should be consulting your vet anyways).

Entertainment Value/Enjoyment(Me: 4/10, Lilo: 9/10): Lilo doesn’t feel sick anymore and I got to see her cower as I cooked her food(I’m really bad in the kitchen and she wanted to survive).  The cooking is fairly simple even for me – microwave rice while pushing ground meat around on a frying pan then portion up once everything is done and your dog will love you for it.  She gobbled everything down that she could and it thankfully stayed down.

Smell(10/10):  I wanted to add some sauce and eat it myself… might be making this “treat” again in the future for the both of us.

Per Day Limit:  This can be used as a temporary meal replacer… so it really depends on what you normally feed your dog.

Training Potential(5/10):  She was willing to do tricks for her food despite not feeling well so I’m going to give this a 5 despite the nature of this treat falling apart in your hands.  You will get mildly messy handling this stuff but it’s at least tasty messiness.. until you get licked by your pup.

Cost: This depends on your food costs and how much your making.  I got some chicken for $5 and a box of rice for roughly the same and that will last for a few days hopefully.

Bottom Line:  This is a food for when there’s an upset that is allergy related and your dogs stomach needs a bit of time to recover.  It isn’t overly hard to make though so I may make it for her in the future again as a treat that I know is gentle on her tummy.

Note: Caution should always be used when introducing a new food item into a dogs diet.  The recommendations on this page are not issued from a vet and I have no experience or knowledge in animal nutrition.  My analysis is based purely on my relationship with my dog and I’ve trusted the packaging to be accurate as to the impact it will have on my dogs health. If your dog has special needs, please consult a vet before introducing any treats into their diet, regardless of my recommendations.

Leave a Reply

