Salmon Cake

Recipe time!

Ingredients:
2 1/4 cups of oat flour(or spelt/rice/barley flour/rye flour)
2 cans of salmon (213g each) – use the juice too.
1/4 cup mashed carrots/sweet potatoes
2 tsp minced garlic
1/2 cup of water
2 eggs

Directions:
1) Pre-heat oven to 300 degrees
2) Use a blender/flood processor to puree the salmon, juice and water
3) Add garlic, carrots/sweet potatoes and eggs to the puree and blend.
4) Combine the mix the oat flour and blend together (should be slightly thicker than cake batter)
5) Spread the mixture onto a well greased cookie sheet/bake pan
6) Bake for ~20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean(like with cakes made for people)
7) Let cool, cut into strips and freeze any excess.  Thaw as wanted.

Note: Making this mix too thick on the pan makes it harder to crumble later on.

Entertainment Value/Enjoyment(Me: 7/10, Lilo: 10/10):  This treat drives Lilo nuts.  She gets so excited when the salmon and carrots come out, then is so very disappointed when the mix goes to the oven.  The excitement gears up into high time however when it comes out of the oven and one remembers that dogs don’t know what “hot” means.  Lilo loves this food so much that “leave it” is a very hard command to accept.

Smell(6/10):  It has a fairly strong scent as it is salmon.  My brain can not decide on if it’s delicious or disgusting though my boyfriend reports that one shouldn’t try to eat it as it does not taste good.  The dog disagrees.  The smell, while being strong, is not overpowering in its presence, it’s just there.  You can smell this cake but you don’t really care.

Per Day Limit: Yet another treat that I have no idea on.  I try to limit Lilo’s(40lb mutt) intake to about a quarter cup sized portion of this on days that she’s training and she’s shown no ill health effects.

Training Potential(7/10):  Crumbles well, is only moderately sticky on the hands and you’re dog will do(almost) anything for the treat.  I can’t give this a 10/10 because if your “Leave It” isn’t down perfect your dog may just deviate and devour the food.  I can tell Lilo to ignore something else and she’ll just sit there and wait for as long as necessary.. but with this she can barely help herself – and sometimes steals it from me.

Cost: Seeing as most products are able to be gotten from the Bulk Barn the cost was fairly low.  I can’t give an accurate approximation as many supplies were used from the home but the cost approximates that of a human cake.

Bottom Line:  I don’t cook, but for my pup I have been working on understanding how to make these cakes.  Introduced in a training class and forever my dogs addiction, I recommend this product for training your dog in almost any high distraction environment(no training near other dogs as resource guarding is not good) as the smell is a drug to the dog.

Note: Caution should always be used when introducing a new food item into a dogs diet.  The recommendations on this page are not issued from a vet and I have no experience or knowledge in animal nutrition.  My analysis is based purely on my relationship with my dog and I’ve trusted the packaging to be accurate as to the impact it will have on my dogs health. If your dog has special needs, please consult a vet before introducing any treats into their diet, regardless of my recommendations.

Leave a Reply

