Bananas

Bananas!  Another delicious human for that dogs can snack on as well.

http://www.besplatne-slike.net Potpuno besplatne slike visokog kvaliteta.

For me this is a treat that I give when I myself am eating bananas as there is -always- that piece of banana that you don’t want to eat and I’m not entirely comfortable feeding my dog a whole banana.

Entertainment Value/Enjoyment(Me: 9/10, Lilo: 10/10):  Lilo loves to slurp up this snack that I share with her.  It’s incredibly cute to watch her eat something that isn’t crunchy for a change.

Smell(10/10):  Bananas rock.

Per Day Limit:  There aren’t any guidelines that I’ve found so far, but when bananas are on the weekly menu I tend to give her about an inch or so of banana a day.

Training Potential(5/10):  She’ll do a few tricks but unless you’re willing to get really messy this treat isn’t going to break down enough for long term training.  You can get a sit, leave it and maybe a few tricks in before that but after that you won’t get much.  If you choose to prepare a banana for training it has higher potential – but that involves work.

Cost: The cost of bananas fluctuates so you’re looking at a low cost(depending on where you live) but I can’t give you a concrete answer.  Amazon doesn’t have one either.

Bottom Line:  I don’t want the smooshed parts of a banana but my dog dogs.  It’s amusing to watch her snack on it and when I’m eating my portion she’s at best behaviour – what’s not to love?

Note: Caution should always be used when introducing a new food item into a dogs diet.  The recommendations on this page are not issued from a vet and I have no experience or knowledge in animal nutrition.  My analysis is based purely on my relationship with my dog and I’ve trusted the packaging to be accurate as to the impact it will have on my dogs health. If your dog has special needs, please consult a vet before introducing any treats into their diet, regardless of my recommendations.

Leave a Reply

