Merrick – Miss Porky Chews

Merrick offers Miss Porky Chews – a pork ear chew for dogs that is larger than most other pork ear chews due to being used from sows ears instead of “traditional pig ears”.

Merrick - Miss Porky Chews

Right now I’m feeling very happy that I have the ability to steer away from meat and a need to chew on meaty things.  This style of treat is not for the weak of stomach but if you can get over the initial shock factor it may be a great treat for your pup to enjoy.

Entertainment Value/Enjoyment(Me: 2/10, Lilo: 7/10):  When I pulled this out Lilo was on me as I was unwrapping it.  I admit it’s hard to fool a dog that a pigs ear isn’t for them so she wasn’t easily discouraged.  It lasted a surprisingly short period of time(under five minutes) but my dog was completely absorbed in the chew until then.

Smell(4/10):  There’s only so much masking of a pigs ear scent that you can do.  It isn’t atrocious but it is very much so a pigs smell.  Guilt triggered.

Per Day Limit:  There is no guidelines on this page but I’d personally try to not offer more than one a day.  There really isn’t anything going on in the balanced nutrition department so a diet heavy in this could probably lead to some sort of nutritional deficiency.  Talk to your vet if you’re interested in introducing this as a regular thing so that you can know the right amount to offer.

Training Potential(1/10):  You can only get as many tricks from your pup for this treat as you can get in one run before handing it over – unless you’re willing to take the treat back after a few seconds when it’s drool-covered.

Cost: I paid about $2.50 for this one at the store where I used to live.  That was on sale from about $4.00 however.  Amazon.com offers it for under $2.00 a chew(and in bulk too) and Amazon.ca is a little laggy at $20.00 per…. yeah I’m not going to link that here.

Bottom Line:  If you have the money to throw around for it – or you live in the states and don’t mind paying $1.00 per quick treat then this could be a fun chew to use on special occasions.  There are other chew treats that last a lot longer so I would personally consider this more of a snack then a chew.  Overall I will probably wind up with one of these in the future again but it’s not something I see myself buying every time I enter the pet store.

Note: Caution should always be used when introducing a new food item into a dogs diet.  The recommendations on this page are not issued from a vet and I have no experience or knowledge in animal nutrition.  My analysis is based purely on my relationship with my dog and I’ve trusted the packaging to be accurate as to the impact it will have on my dogs health. If your dog has special needs, please consult a vet before introducing any treats into their diet, regardless of my recommendations.

Leave a Reply

