Merrick – Ranger Rib

Merrick offers the Ranger Rib, a natural beef rib bone for dogs.  Made in the USA and claiming to be the mother of all bones, this 8″-10″ bone looks like a durable toy for quite a few minutes of fun interaction.

Merrick - Ranger Rib

Aside from falling short on the time expectation and snapping apart into pieces that at first caused me alarm, this treat performed fairly okay.

Entertainment Value/Enjoyment(Me: 3/10, Lilo: 7/10):  Lilo was following this thing around wherever I left it and would hover near the shelf it rested on for about a minute.  When I finally gave it to her then she dove in and demolished most of it in a few minutes.  It didn’t fascinate her as strongly as other treats have so I’m not giving this too high of a rating for her, and the fact that it snapped into pieces caused me quite a scare and I started closely watching her to see if she was making slivers or just chunks of bone.

Smell(5/10):  This smells rather meaty, thus the draw from Lilo that I mentioned above.

Per Day Limit:  Yet another one that I have no idea on.  When in doubt, talk to your vet!  This seems to be an occasional treat as compared to a daily thing if you would prefer my humble opinion though.

Training Potential(3/10):  If you’re willing to hold a rib bone and let your dog lick/chew it for a few seconds in between tricks then you may have something going there but it wasn’t a fun thing to hold and I wouldn’t advise it, kibble has way better potential and will gross you out less.  If you’re fine with the texture and everything then all the power to you though, you are a stronger human than I.

Cost: Another item that I got on sale, and currently isn’t on Amazon.ca(no bars on Amazon.com though if you’re from the USA).  I believe this averages about $5 normal price for those in Southern Ontario – haven’t seen them outside of there though.

Bottom Line:  Lilo enjoyed it, the snapping apart scared me though appears to be harmless.  She kept around a few pieces for awhile and gently gnawed them so there is some lasting potential.  The snapping has kept me away from thinking of buying them again but a gentler chewer may not create such a startling sound through cracking the bone.  My opinion on this is just that there are other products that give my dog the “meat” experience without being quite so traumatic on my nerves.

Note: Caution should always be used when introducing a new food item into a dogs diet.  The recommendations on this page are not issued from a vet and I have no experience or knowledge in animal nutrition.  My analysis is based purely on my relationship with my dog and I’ve trusted the packaging to be accurate as to the impact it will have on my dogs health. If your dog has special needs, please consult a vet before introducing any treats into their diet, regardless of my recommendations.

Leave a Reply

