The Schum-Tug

The Schum-Tug is a Canadian made tug toy that is made of fake fur and is claimed to promote the relationship between dog and guardian.

Schum Tug

Being a few feet long and made of tough material I figured this toy would be a good tug toy to engage my overly active pup without getting my fingers in the way.

Durability(10/10):  We have played quite a few games of tug/run-around-with-this-in-ones-mouth and aside from Lilo’s side being a fair bit drooled on there are no signs of wear.

Entertainment Value(Me: 10/10, Lilo: 10/10):  The length of this rope makes play really simple and enjoyable.  You can run around with it, tug, guide spins and much more.  I’ve had a lot of fun using this as a training tool for leave it and stays.  Lilo is constantly eager to play and will perform tricks to keep the games going.

House Safety(9/10):  I can’t see this breaking something of its own accord if it’s used properly but I can see antics creating a hazard if care isn’t taken.  It’s important to keep safety in mind with this toy and it should never be left unsupervised as it could quickly become a tripping hazard.

Ease of Cleaning(10/10):  It’s machine washable.  You can’t ask for much more than that.

Some Uses: Fetch, tug, training.

Cost: I paid $33.99 plus tax for this beauty.  Amazon doesn’t have them so here’s a link to the companies website.

Sizes: The length can vary with my tug being a few feet in length(I got the longest one I could see).

Bottom Line: This toy is the best tug toy to date that I’ve found.  The price is well worth it as we’ve used this toy for hours and it hasn’t shown wear whereas the cheaper ones start to shred within minutes of being used.  I also love that it gives room for the dog to grip so that they don’t have to struggle to get a comfortable bite and you don’t have to watch your fingers.  Plus it’s soft on your hands and easy to play with.  Definitely carries my recommendation and I support the idea that this can help foster a stronger relationship with your pup.

Note: It’s important to remember that nothing is indestructible and all good things will come to an end – monitor the condition of this toy and please remove it when it shows considerable amounts of wear and tear.

Leave a Reply

