Hear Doggy!: Flats

An “ultrasonic toy” that says “no more annoying squeaky toys!” attracted my eye and I read that this toy emits a sound that is above the human range of hearing.  While looking at it Lilo was having a hissy fit as the sound of pushed air hit my ears from the squeaker, so I got it.

Hear Doggy! - Flats Cat

I have no idea if it makes a noise above 20KHz but I can say that it doesn’t make a squeak that I can hear.

Durability(8/10):  When supervised this toy lasts a long while.  If I look away for very long an ear goes missing.  Our squeaky kitty is very matted in drool and missing all of one ear and some of the other but, in general, it’s in amazing shape.  This isn’t built to stand up to focused chewing but for shaking and running around it’s absolutely amazing.

Entertainment Value(Me: 8/10, Lilo: 10/10):  This is a toy of excitement for Lilo and I love how happy she gets when I bring it out.  The sound of the air in the squeaker does diminish the fun if I’m trying to focus on something but all in all happiness abounds.

House Safety(10/10):  This is extremely lightweight and Lilo doesn’t attempt to throw it around like other toys.  It also doesn’t like to fly very far.  In theory this could break something very fragile but I’m giving this a 10 because it poses such a low risk.

Ease of Cleaning(9/10):  I wouldn’t put it in a washing machine because of that squeaker but if you run it under some tap water you can clean it fairly well.

Some Uses: Fetch, independent play.

Cost: This toy is usually seen hovering between the five to ten dollar mark.

Sizes: There are no sizes that I’ve seen though there are other models than the cat.

Bottom LineThis is a toy that I enjoy bringing out occasionally for Lilo.  It isn’t silent, and it isn’t something that will last long if your dog chews it but it can be absolutely amazing for happy, high energy fun without leaving you with a crippling headache.

Note: It’s important to remember that nothing is indestructible and all good things will come to an end – monitor the condition of this toy and please remove it when it shows considerable amounts of wear and tear.

Leave a Reply

