Jolly Pets: Jolly Ball

In looking for something for my dog to wrestle with that would drain her energy I came across the Jolly Ball.  The price was steep for my income and the material seemed easily destroyed but I was assured it was well loved by dogs so I decided to give it a shot.
Jolly Ball

Durability(9.5/10): The ball will get punctured by teeth and it will end up looking like a natural disaster hit it, but it stays strong and keeps on rolling and doing what it does.

Entertainment Value(Me: 9/10, Lilo: 10/10): This is a top notch toy for entertainment, it’s good for rolling around, biting, punching… whatever Lilo wants to do this toy can take it and she makes sure to dish it out.

House Safety(6/10): It tends to stay on the ground for the most part but it is a large heavy ball with a handle that is utilized by the dog(if you think you get the handle during tug think again).  So if you have anything delicate at dog level it may be at risk.  Not about to hurt your floors though so that’s a plus.

Ease of Cleaning(7/10): It’s a weird soft rubber that punctures really easy so that is a challenge in cleaning(many tiny tiny holes) but overall it isn’t bad.

Some Uses: This is a toy with many uses.  You can use it for fetch, tug, independent play… your imagination is where this toys uses will end.

Cost: Amazon.ca has the horse sized one(10″) for $18.99 and free shipping.  The 8″ one I got for Lilo was about $25.00 on sale so with the free shipping Amazon is definitely winning the price race on this one.  When I have cash I’m definitely upgrading her to the horse sized one.

Sizes Available: This ball comes in many sizes.  Getting one at the size/weight for your pup is what I’d recommend.  With my dogs high energy and strong frame I try to get her things a size up from recommended, but if you have a laid-back dog staying a bit smaller may do the trick.

Bottom Line: I love this toy.  I saw it in shelters really beat up and I worried that was instant wear but having it now I know it’s a great toy that I can easily recommend to others.  There’s no real downside to this toy that I have been able to find thus far.  I definitely believe it is worth the price even when found in pet stores for ~$30.00.

Note: It’s important to remember that nothing is indestructible and all good things will come to an end – monitor the condition of this toy and please remove it when it shows considerable amounts of wear and tear.

Leave a Reply

