Greenies: Canine Dental Chews

Greenies; the dental product most widespread and well-known amongst dog owners.  I grabbed a value pack of these guys before I even had my pup.

Greenies Canine Dental Chew

Entertainment Value/Enjoyment(Me: 4/10, Lilo: 8/10):  This entertains Lilo for a few seconds and can calm her down which is a nice break for me.  I did not give this too high of a value though because she has had a few issues with keeping them down.  See “Per Day Limit” for more info.

Smell(8.5/10):  There is a smell to it but I don’t find it offensive in any way so I give this a decently high rating.

Per Day Limit:  There are guidelines based on the weight of your dog and the size given.  Following the guidelines I found Lilo got sick after a few days of use(she would decide after a few days that she didn’t want to keep the most recent treat down).  I now give her a treat about once a week and haven’t had any problems.  I’ve also heard from pet shop owners that people have complained but that is hearsay.

Training Potential(3/10):  Yet another one offer treat.  You get one a day according to the recommendations and however many tricks you can get for a single treat is how many tricks you will get.

Cost: Amazon has the Large 24 count box for $39.61 with free shipping.  Different sizes and quantities will probably have different prices so feel free to investigate that.

Bottom Line:  I’m not certain that this should be a “staple” treat to keep in your pups life but I acknowledge that many people approve of its use and that Lilo seems to tolerate them when given about once a week or less.  Feel free to comment below with your experience so that people can know.

Note: Caution should always be used when introducing a new food item into a dogs diet.  The recommendations on this page are not issued from a vet and I have no experience or knowledge in animal nutrition.  My analysis is based purely on my relationship with my dog and I’ve trusted the packaging to be accurate as to the impact it will have on my dogs health. If your dog has special needs, please consult a vet before introducing any treats into their diet, regardless of my recommendations.

Leave a Reply

