ToysRUs Pets – Squeaky Spike Ball

This toy reminded me of a similar toy I had gotten her previously(Mouth Massager) and I figured I’d give it a shot as a smaller ball could be fun for her to play with.

Featured image

Durability(6/10):  It stands up to general wear and tear decently well but this is not a toy to let the dog sit down and quietly chew on.  The soft material holds up well under mouthing but would not be suitable for a chew toy.

Entertainment Value(Me: 8/10, Lilo: 10/10):  There is a non-squeaky version that is slightly less durable so I am giving this a higher rating for myself.  However Lilo’s enjoyment also drops for that version.  If I had earplugs I would enjoy this toy very much as Lilo went ballistic for it.

House Safety(9/10):  If you have crystal figurines sitting around you may have problems but this is a pretty lightweight toy and I was throwing it through my room continuously without fear.

Smell(8/10):  It wasn’t bad.

Ease of Cleaning(7/10):  This wasn’t the easiest to clean because of all the spikes.  Tremendous amounts of drool and dog fur could gather on it and getting everything off under the tap wasn’t as easy as I could hope for.

Some Uses: Fetch and independent play.  Lilo was perfectly fine tossing this for herself and chasing it around without my help.

Cost: Ballparking $5.00 at a local PetSmart.

Sizes: There may have been a smaller size but I didn’t notice anything big enough for a large dog.  I wouldn’t recommend this for anything larger than a lab.

Bottom LineThis is a fun toy that is worth the money if you have it to spend.  I wouldn’t consider it critical but I would have on the list shortly after the “must buys”.

Note: It’s important to remember that nothing is indestructible and all good things will come to an end – monitor the condition of this toy and please remove it when it shows considerable amounts of wear and tear.

Leave a Reply

