Grreat Choice – Dog Biscuits

A cheap dog biscuit that is fortified with 12 vitamins and minerals, plus freshening breath and cleaning teeth.

Grreat Choice - Dog Biscuits

This was a cheap snack that I was hoping would have a crunch for Lilo as most snacks we have go down pretty fast.

Entertainment Value/Enjoyment(Me: 8/10, Lilo: 6/10):  The texture is nice to hold as your hands don’t get dirty and Lilo loves crunching them down.  They don’t drive her to give me spontaneous tricks so these aren’t her favourite but she focuses enough to be useful for calmness training.

Smell(10/10):  The smell is almost non-existent to me.  I’m enjoying it.

Per Day Limit:  The instructions for the medium biscuits is maximum 1 per 10 lbs of dog.  Which means I’m supposed to keep Lilo to four or less a day.  I’m probably breaking that limit but given that my dog can’t gain weight and hasn’t had any problems with it I’m not too concerned personally.  Somebody with a dog who isn’t so inclined might want to watch the limit.

Training Potential(5/10):  They are said to be “perfect for training” but usually only break into 3 pieces, sometimes 5 or so.  That means that I get 12-20 “training treats” per day maximum so I’m not entirely sure I agree with it for a focused session.  I personally use these for bathroom breaks as she gets pieces for recalls in the backyard and then a full biscuit for nicely going back into the house and to her crate.  It has been amazing for this as other treats prompt her to pester me in the hopes that she’ll get a tasty morsel.

Cost: Depending on the on the size of the bag/box that you want.  These are extremely nice on your wallet as I got my 24 oz. bag for under $5.00.

Bottom Line:  I will be buying these again.  They aren’t for dogs with certain allergies but for my dog she’s had no problems with these and enjoys them enough that our potty break regime is going a lot more smoothly.  Not what I’d use for training sessions but a lovely addition to the daily schedule.

Note: Caution should always be used when introducing a new food item into a dogs diet.  The recommendations on this page are not issued from a vet and I have no experience or knowledge in animal nutrition.  My analysis is based purely on my relationship with my dog and I’ve trusted the packaging to be accurate as to the impact it will have on my dogs health. If your dog has special needs, please consult a vet before introducing any treats into their diet, regardless of my recommendations.

Leave a Reply

