Crumps’ naturals – Sweet Potato Chews

These were on sale and I figured I’d give em a shot as the only listed ingredient was sweet potato and I wanted to see if Lilo would like it.

Crumps' Naturals - Sweet Potato Chews

 

I’ve also wanted to buy a dehydrator for awhile and thus figured I’d see if the end product was appreciated in the first place.

Entertainment Value/Enjoyment(Me: 6.5/10, Lilo: 8.5/10):  The chews are a tiny bit oily but not too bad, just enough to notice sometimes.  Lilo takes a few seconds to get through them though and the drool that results indicates she really enjoyed it.

Smell(10/10):  It smells like dried sweet potato, not too offensively though.

Per Day Limit:  There is no recommended limit on the bag and refers to the feeding guideline as “feed to your dog as a healthy treat”.  I stuck to one piece every few days(talk to your vet).

Training Potential(5/10):  Lilo was eager to do tricks but they do take awhile to chew and most of the pieces are quite large which limits the usefulness in a trick training session.  This is something that I would use to ask her to stay in her spot for a few seconds with as it is very effective at this.

Cost: At PetSmart they are $8.00 for a 160g bag.  I got them on sale however so it does happen.

Bottom Line:  I really enjoyed this treat but instead of purchasing them again I feel that I’d rather spend my time with a dehydrator.  This style of treat is definitely on the to get again though(cemented my desire to buy a dehydrator).  For those with money I’d recommend a steady purchase of these any day.  I’d also recommend people try them at least once.

Note: Caution should always be used when introducing a new food item into a dogs diet.  The recommendations on this page are not issued from a vet and I have no experience or knowledge in animal nutrition.  My analysis is based purely on my relationship with my dog and I’ve trusted the packaging to be accurate as to the impact it will have on my dogs health. If your dog has special needs, please consult a vet before introducing any treats into their diet, regardless of my recommendations.

Leave a Reply

